Ngati Ranginui Iwi

Ngati Ranginui are the descendants of ancestors who arrived on the Takitimu Waka, lived and settled in Tauranga in the Bay of Plenty hundreds of years ago. Our ancestor Tamatea Arikinui conducted the rituals and ceremonies of the arrival at Mauao. Over many generations these ancestors and their descendants established villages, fortifications, burial grounds, fishing areas and forest places. These lands and waters have been confiscated following the land wars 1865. Today the tribal groups only retain a fraction of their once vast estates. We express our relationship with our ancestral lands by maintaining marae, retaining remnant reserves and keeping the identity and customary rights and practices alive.

Ngati Ranginui Iwi has seven affiliated Hapu and ten Marae:

Hapu Marae
Ngai Tamarawaho - Huria
Ngai Te Ahi - Hairini
Ngati Hangarau - Hangarau
Ngati Kahu - Wairoa
Ngati Ruahine - Waimapu
Ngati Te Wai - Tuapiro
Pirirakau - Tutereinga
  - Poututerangi
  - Paparoa
  - Tawhitinui